Feature Friday · Uncategorized

Feature Friday with blogger, Sally Wagner

2

Happy Friday friends! Today, we get to meet Sally Wagner, from the blog Sweet Peas and ABCs. If you are looking for yummy recipes and ideas to get your kids involved in cooking, then you will love Sally.

What is your favorite app?

I don’t have a lot of apps!  But if I had to pick one, it would probably be Instagram.  I love how visual Instagram is and I also like the challenge of finding that ONE great picture to show what it is you’d like to share. (I hope things don’t change too much with the new algorithm behind what you’ll see in your feed!)

What song best describes your blog/brand?

“Here Comes the Sun” by the Beatles! Besides being one of my favorite songs, I feel like it describes where we’ve been and where we’re going in terms of the role food plays in our lives. We are in the midst of a food revolution, like we are coming out of the dark ages of highly processed foods, back to a more natural state of cooking and eating. For years we were told that things like butter and sugar were really bad for us, that we should replace them with things developed in a lab like margarine, artificial sweeteners and “harmless” food dyes. So much time and money was spent trying to figure out how to make food faster, cheaper and easier for the home cook.  As it turns out, all of those efforts were making us sick.  It was a long cold winter, decades and decades of misinformation, and now the sun is coming out again. We are choosing all natural ingredients, organic fruits and vegetables, cage-free, free-range, grass-fed proteins, AND we’re getting back in the kitchen.  Taking time, cooking more, and getting our kids involved.  This is where I think my blog comes into play.  We have to pass this knowledge onto the next generation, so they can learn from the mistakes we made in the past and hopefully will not repeat them.

How many hours after getting paid does it take you to spend your entire pay check?

I am currently a stay-at-home-mom, so I don’t technically get a paycheck anymore (boo!), but when I did, it would take me a long time to spend. I’m a saver 🙂

What blogging post are you most proud of? Why?

I’m most proud of my French Meat Pie post because it highlights a tradition that has been in my husband’s family for decades.  I’m so proud that I was able to capture four generations of my husband’s family making meat pie together, including my daughter.  I’m also very proud of a post I wrote very recently about how to make Naturally Colored Icing for sugar cookies, using fruits and vegetables instead of artificial food dyes. I have so much to say about WHY it’s important to advocate for natural coloring in our food products. It think it’s such an important message to spread, especially for our children’s sake.

If you could be any celebrity, who would you be?

Gosh, this is a hard one.  Maybe Giada de Laurentiis?  She’s always been my favorite TV celebrity chef, and who wouldn’t want to tour the world cooking and eating?!

FEATURE FRIDAY

Describe your blog using only three words.

Cooking. Learning. Kids.

What book(s) are you currently reading?

Besides any and all children’s books? My daughter loves reading and I also love finding great children’s books, so I truly spend a lot of time reading children’s books! On my nightstand, though? I’m currently (slowly) reading “In Defense of Food” by Michael Pollan.

What makes your blog unique?

Sweet Peas and ABCs is unique in a few ways.  First, I like to share all kinds of recipes and suggest ways for kids to get involved in cooking everything from muffins and meatballs to whole-grain salads and vegetarian curry dishes.  Second, and probably the more unique part of the blog, I share learning activities that you can do with your kids using the ingredients from our recipes! Math, reading, science, art, spelling, and even sensory activities, can all be connected to what you’re cooking.

If we were at Starbuck’s right now what drink would you order?

I may the only tea drinker out there, but if I were to go to Starbucks, I’d likely order an Earl Grey tea with honey and milk.  Simple.

What else would you like us to know about you or your blog?

I’m pretty new to the blogging world, but I think it’s so important to share our passion and our voice with others. I LOVE sharing recipes and writing about how to get your kids involved in the kitchen. Cooking together is all about having fun, connecting with each other and making great food.  There just happen to be other things you can learn along the way!

Want to connect with Sally Wagner?

Sweet Peas and ABCs                   Instagram                         Facebook

P.S. If you enjoyed this post, you may also like to meet Rebecca Krusse.

 

Leave a Reply

